USDA Designates Natural Disaster Areas – Louisiana Producers to Receive Assistance

Story by the La. Dept. of Agriculture & Forestry

Baton Rouge – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 13 counties in Arkansas as primary natural disaster areas because of excessive rain and flooding that occurred from November 1, 2015 through January 12, 2016. As a result, some Louisiana farmers could be eligible for assistance.

Farmers in Bossier and Caddo parishes are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. 

Click here for full story