LRN Inducts 3 into 2016 Agriculture Hall of Distinction

by Don Molino

The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction honored its 2016 inductees during a banqueton Thursday, March 17 at L'Auberge Hotel in Baton Rouge.

The 2016 inductees were:

  • Willie Cooper of Pineville for his notable contributions to the agribusiness community. Cooper served 42 years as state executive director of the Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service, which later merged with other agencies to form the Farm Service Agency.
  • Ruben John Dauzat of Marksville for his substantial role in agricultural production. Dauzat was named outstanding master farmer in 2014 under the Louisiana Master Farmer program.
  • Raymond Hensgens (posthumously) of Crowley for his significant contributions to rice farming. Hensgens was a founding partner in G&H Seed, which was acquired in 2012 by farm supplier Jimmy Sanders Inc. Wayne Hensgens accepted the honor on his father's behalf.

The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction honors those who have made significant contributions to the state's agriculture community in farming, ranching, forestry, aquaculture, education and agribusiness.

The annual induction ceremony is presented by the Louisiana Radio Network in cooperation with the LSU AgCenter and the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. Monsanto serves as title sponsor, and First South Farm Credit is the presenting sponsor.